Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Fitting a Bigsby (or whatever) to a hollowbody.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fitting a Bigsby (or whatever) to a hollowbody.

Guys, noob in the realm of trems here. Sub level n00b in the area of hollowbody guitars.
    I'm looking at a Epi Emperor LH and I want to put a trem on there. Is this even possible? Advisable? What kind of trem (let's for argumentssake say a Bigsby) would I be able to put on there without damaging the paint. What if I wanna take it off again?
    Suggestions?
    (spontaneous bursts of laughter even?)
    va' sa' du? va' hete' du?
    Originally posted by chilton
    Unfortunately I've got all the guitars I need at the moment.
    www.dutchcassidy.com

You might want to check into these. I installed one on my Gibson SG that works very well.

http://www.vibramate.com/index.html

There's another guy who advertises on e-bay called ZZGuitarworks but I have no experience with them. Both are for Bigsby installations.

Comment

Thanks SJ; but that goes on the stoptail posts right?
      Let me refrase the question;
      Guys, noob in the realm of trems here. Sub level n00b in the area of hollowbody guitars.
      I'm looking at a Epi Emperor LH (hollowbody guitar)

This guitar is equipped with a tailpiece, no stoptail. Now what I really want to do is put a trem on there. Make it into something like the Emperor Swingster (there's no LH for that model )

Is this even possible? Advisable? What kind of trem (let's for argumentssake say a Bigsby) would I be able to put on there without damaging the paint, on at least the top. I understand there might/will be some drilling in the side where the tailpiece-screwholes don't allign with the tremolo-screwholes. My main concern is for the top.
      Suggestions?
      (spontaneous bursts of laughter even?)
      www.dutchcassidy.com

Comment